Research News

Horn named AERA Fellow

Ilana Horn

Ilana Horn is among 24 scholars selected as 2024 Fellows by the American Educational Research Association. Horn is professor of mathematics education at Vanderbilt Peabody College of education and human development.

Professor Horn’s research on teacher learning lies at the intersection of mathematics education, learning sciences, and the sociology of teachers’ work. She examines classroom practices that engage the most students in high quality mathematics education and the ways in which school environments, communities, educators, and policies shape the possibilities of instruction.

“At the heart of Lani’s work is a sincere desire to improve mathematics education for all students, especially for those historically marginalized by education systems. The AERA Fellowship reflects the impact of her work not only on the field of education research but on the instructional practices of countless educators. I congratulate her on this distinct and most deserved honor,” said Camilla Benbow, Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development.

In 2023, Horn was appointed vice chair of the U.S. National Commission on Mathematics Instruction. Her most recent book, co-authored with Brette Garner of the University of Denver, is Teacher Learning of Ambitious and Equitable Mathematics: A Sociocultural Perspective (Routledge, 2022).

AERA Fellows are recognized for their exceptional contributions to education research. They are nominated by their peers, selected by the Fellows Committee, and approved by the AERA Council, the organization’s elected body. Fellows will be inducted on Friday, April 12, during the AERA 2024 annual meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. As of this year, there are 762 AERA Fellows.

Founded in 1916, AERA is the largest national interdisciplinary research association devoted to the scientific study of education and learning.

With the addition of Horn, 16 current and emeriti Vanderbilt faculty members are AERA Fellows:

  • Camilla Benbow, Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development
  • Paul Cobb, professor of education, emeritus
  • David Dickinson, research professor in language and literacy education, professor emeritus
  • Dale Farran, professor of education, emerita
  • Douglas Fuchs, research professor of special education, Nicholas Hobbs Chair of Special Education and Human Development, Emeritus
  • Lynn Fuchs, research professor of special education, Dunn Family Chair in Psychoeducational Assessment, Emerita
  • Ellen Goldring, Patricia and Rodes Hart Chair, professor of educational leadership and policy, and vice dean
  • Jason Grissom, Patricia and Rodes Hart Chair, professor of leadership, policy, and organizations
  • Rogers Hall, research professor of teaching and learning, Wachtmeister Family Chair, Emeritus
  • Carolyn Heinrich, University Distinguished Professor of Leadership, Policy, and Organizations
  • Robert Jiménez, professor of education, emeritus
  • Richard Lehrer, professor of teaching and learning, emeritus
  • Rich Milner, Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair in Education
  • Joseph Murphy, Frank M. Mayborn Chair, Emeritus
  • Daniel Reschly, professor of special education, emeritus