Kudos: Read about faculty, staff and student honors, awards and achievements

Boatman (Vanderbilt)

Angela Boatman, assistant professor of public policy and higher education, has been selected to collaborate with the Center for the Analysis of Postsecondary Readiness (CAPR), a new national research center focused on reforming remedial education. CAPR will be housed at Columbia University and will operate in collaboration with the social policy research organization MDRC and scholars at Vanderbilt, U.C.-Davis and Stanford.

Diane Di Ianni, adjunct professor of law, has received the Molly Todd Award from the Nashville League of Women Voters.

Brent Evans, assistant professor of public policy and higher education, traveled to New York to present research on Advanced Placement credits before the College Board’s Advanced Placement Higher Education Advisory Committee, a group of admissions deans and higher education faculty that advises the College Board on Advanced Placement courses and policies. In addition, Evans and Peabody colleague Angela Boatman presented their paper, “Applying the Lessons of Behavioral Economics to Improve the Federal Student Loan Programs: Six Policy Recommendations,” at the Lumina Ideas Summit: New Models of Student Financial Support in Washington, D.C.

Emily Fyfe, a Ph.D. student in psychology and human development at Peabody College, is one of 85 doctoral students selected to receive a $15,000 Scholar Award from the P.E.O. Sisterhood. P.E.O. Scholar Awards provide substantial merit-based scholarships for women in the United States and Canada who are pursuing a doctoral-level degree at an accredited college or university.

Craig Anne Heflinger, associate dean for graduate education at Peabody College and professor of human and organizational development, has been appointed to the Get Covered Tennessee Advisory Council. Get Covered Tennessee is a statewide collaboration of organizations working to provide enrollment assistance to Tennesseans eligible for new health insurance options through the Health Insurance Marketplace established under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.

Murphy (Vanderbilt)

Joe Murphy, associate dean for special projects at Peabody College and the Frank W. Mayborn Chair in Education, gave the keynote address at the Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate Conference held in Denver, Colorado.

Anne Powell, a research instructor in the Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition, is one of five recipients of a 2014 Research Scholar Award from the American Gastroenterological Association. The award provides $90,000 per year for three years to protect the honoree’s time for research.

Kristin Torrey, director of Greek Life, has received the national Advisor to Fraternities Award for 2014 from Phi Kappa Psi Fraternity.

Weichen Wang and Xujie Si, graduate students in computer science, and Mungo Sammons, a senior majoring in economics and computer science, competed in the ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest World Finals held in Ekaterinburg, Russia. This was Vanderbilt’s second appearance at the World Finals; the university also was represented in Tokyo in 2007.

Leslie Wilkes, a health systems analyst at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, won first place in the professional category of the Nashville’s Sky Through My Eye photo contest sponsored by Mayor Karl Dean’s office. Wilkes’ winning photo will be used by the Mayor’s Office, the Nashville Convention and Visitors Corp. and the Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce in promotional materials for the city.