Kudos: Read about faculty, staff, student and alumni awards, appointments and achievements

Stephanie Carr, an eighth-grade literacy teacher at Wright Middle School, and LaToya Anderson, an eighth-grade literacy teacher at Apollo Middle School, have been named Teacher of the Year at their respective schools. Both are 2012 graduates of Vanderbilt’s Teaching and Learning in Urban Schools master’s degree program. Christiane Buggs, an eighth-grade math teacher at Neely’s Bend Middle School, received the “Apple 4 the Teacher” award from WSMV-Channel 4 in January. Buggs is currently in her first year of the TLUS program.

Lauren Clay (Vanderbilt)
Clay (Vanderbilt)

Lauren Clay, assistant professor of history, has authored Stagestruck: The Business of Theater in 18th-Century France and Its Colonies, published by Cornell University Press. The book examines the expansion and commercialization of the French theater industry during the late 18th century to become one of the most extensive and active in the West.

Stephen Derryberry, a junior majoring in molecular and cellular biology, received the first-ever Student Research Presentation Award given by the Tennessee Mosquito and Vector Control Association during its second annual meeting Feb. 12 in Nashville. Derryberry was the only undergraduate competitor among a field of graduate students from UT-Knoxville and Austin Peay State University. His seminar, “Pharmacological Characterization of AgAMT1 as a Potential Ammonia Sensor in Anopheles Gambiae,” summarized the results of his studies over the course of the past year in the laboratory of Laurence Zwiebel, Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair in Biological Sciences.

David K. Dickinson, professor of education in the Department of Teaching and Learning, is serving on the Early Literacy Expert Panel for the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices. The group is formulating guidance for about eight states interested in receiving policy guidance.

Etherington (Vanderbilt)
Etherington (Vanderbilt)

Carol Etherington, associate professor of nursing and associate director of community health initiatives for the Vanderbilt Institute of Global Health, received the Martin Luther King Jr. Award, presented annually to a Vanderbilt faculty or staff member in the School of Medicine, School of Nursing or Vanderbilt University Medical Center who emulates King’s principles through his or her work.

Stacey Kendrick, coordinator of health promotion for Faculty and Staff Health and Wellness, received the 2012 Iris Award from the Nashville District Dietetic Association for her contributions to the field of dietetics.

Catherine Molineux (Vanderbilt)
Molineux (Vanderbilt)

Catherine Molineux, assistant professor of history, has been awarded the Charles A. Ryskamp Research Fellowship for the 2013-14 academic year by the American Council of Learned Societies. Ryskamp fellowships provide advanced assistant professors and untenured associate professors in the humanities and related social sciences with time and resources to pursue their research under optimal conditions. Previous Vanderbilt winners include Samira Sheikh, assistant professor of history, in 2012-13 and Edward N. Wright-Rios, associate professor of history, in 2011-12.

Will Tarnell, a sophomore in the College of Arts and Science, has received an honorable mention for the Dell Magazines Award for Undergraduate Excellence in Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing. The award is given annually to the best short story written in the science fiction or fantasy genres by a full-time undergraduate college student.

Paul Yoder, professor of special education, has been selected to receive the 2013 Research Award from the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities. The award will be presented during the AAIDD Annual Meeting scheduled for June 3-6 in Pittsburgh.