Vanderbilt Alumni Association Board welcomes new members

The Vanderbilt Alumni Association Board will welcome three new alumni leaders for three-year terms beginning July 1, 2021:

  • Shantell Hinton Hill, BE’06, MDiv’16, of Little Rock, Arkansas, is an equity officer with the Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation, a grant-making organization committed to advancing economic, educational, social, ethnic and racial equity for all Arkansans.
  • Bill Jung, BA’80, of Tampa, Florida, is a district judge for the United States District Court for the Middle District of Florida. From 1993 to 2018, he was a partner at Jung & Sisco P.A. (formerly Black & Jung P.A.) specializing in civil and commercial defense litigation.
  • Heiki Miki, MBA’96, of Darien, Connecticut, and Tokyo, is managing executive officer and division director of Shinagawa Refractories Co. Ltd., a refractories supplier serving global steel, cement, glass and energy industries. Miki currently serves on the Owen Asia Alumni Board and is co-president of the Japan Chapter of the Vanderbilt Alumni Association.

Tim Warnock, BA’84, president of the Alumni Association Board, begins the second year of his two-year term on July 1, and AAB member Anu Pardeshi, BS’00, MS’02, MBA’04, of Nashville will serve as president-elect for a one-year term. Pardeshi is a senior vice president of middle market banking at Truist.

The following AAB members accepted the opportunity to serve a second three-year term, beginning July 1:

  • Debbi Clarke, MEd’98, of Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Todd Graham, BE’96, of McLean, Virginia
  • Jim Hillsman, BA’79, of Fort Myers, Florida
  • Terry Moore, BE’81, of Knoxville, Tennessee
  • Michelle Sisco, BA’88, of Tampa, Florida

“Our Alumni Association Board members are truly Vanderbilt for life,” said Barney Ellis-Perry, associate vice chancellor for alumni engagement and annual giving. “We are grateful for their dedication to supporting our entire Commodore community. Their commitment and generosity help make Vanderbilt an exceptional place where everyone can reach their full potential.”

Two AAB members, Dr. Makeba Williams Boatwright, BS’98, and Kenya Wright, BA’18, will conclude their terms on June 30. Both will join the Vanderbilt Board of Trust on July 1. Boatwright is an associate professor and director of obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. She has held a variety of alumni volunteer leadership roles, including class officer and career adviser. She and her husband, Damond Boatwright, established the Dr. Makeba and Damond Williams Boatwright Scholarship to support students at Peabody College of education and human development.

Kenya Wright, of Brooklyn, New York, is manager of Enterprise Initiatives at Cancer Treatment Centers of America, where she oversees programs that make virtual and home-based care accessible to oncology patients. She was elected a Young Alumni Leader in 2018 and has been an active alumni volunteer as a GOLD class agent, VUconnect career adviser and Giving Day ambassador.

The Vanderbilt Alumni Association’s mission is to engage alumni in the life of the university, encourage lifelong connections among alumni, and support the university’s goals.

Learn more about the Vanderbilt Alumni Association Board at