Eight from School of Nursing recognized for leadership, professional accomplishments

Six Vanderbilt University School of Nursing nurse-midwives have been selected as 2021 Fellows of the American College of Nurse-Midwives, and two of the school’s faculty have been named 2021 Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners.

ACNM fellowship is an honor bestowed upon midwives whose demonstrated leadership within the association, clinical excellence, outstanding scholarship and professional achievement have merited special recognition within and outside of the midwifery profession, ACNM said in a release.

The new ACNM fellows are:

Their induction ceremony will take place during the association’s virtual annual meeting on May 23.

Meanwhile, Meg Shifrin, assistant professor of nursing, and Heather Jackson, assistant professor of nursing and director of advanced practice at the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, are the new AANP fellows. Established in 2000, the fellows program recognizes nurse practitioners who have made significant accomplishments through clinical practice, research, education or policy, according to an AANP release.

“It’s an honor to have so many of our faculty, as well as a future Vanderbilt Ph.D., recognized by their professional organizations for their accomplishments,” said Linda Norman, dean and the Valere Potter Menefee Professor of Nursing. “Being named a fellow is one of the highest distinctions in any profession and signals that one’s contributions in practice, education, leadership or research are moving the profession forward.”

ACNM is the professional association that represents certified nurse-midwives and certified midwives to promote excellence in midwifery education, clinical practice and research. Members are primary care providers for women throughout the lifespan, with a special emphasis on pregnancy, childbirth and gynecologic and reproductive health.

The AANP is the largest professional membership organization for nurse practitioners of all specialties, providing legislative leadership at the local, state and national levels, advancing health policy; promoting excellence in practice, education and research; and establishing standards that best serve nurse practitioner patients and other health care consumers.