Additional Faculty Honors

Peabody’s Wyatt Center (Vanderbilt)

Sandra Barnes’ documentary, Gary, Indiana: A Tale of Two Cities, won an Award of Distinction at the Academy of Interactive and Visual Arts’ 25th Annual Communicator Awards ceremony. Barnes is professor of human and organizational development.

Erin Barton, PhD’07, associate professor of special education, received the 2019 Merle B. Karnes Award for Service by the Division for Early Childhood for contributions in leadership, service, research, advocacy or publications.

Douglas Fuchs, Nicholas Hobbs Professor of Special Education and Human Development, and Lynn S. Fuchs, Dunn Family Professor of Psychoeducational Assessment and professor of special education, received the 2019 Alexander Heard Distinguished Service Professor Award from Vanderbilt. The award recognizes distinctive contributions to the analysis and solutions of contemporary social problems.

Judy Garber, Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Psychology and Human Development, received the 2019 Distinguished Scientist Award from the Society for a Science of Clinical Psychology.

Jennifer Ledford, PhD’12, assistant professor of special education, received the 2019 Division for Early Childhood’s Award for Mentoring.

Daniel Levin, professor of psychology and human development and director of the department’s graduate studies program, has been named a fellow of the Association for Psychological Science.

Mark Lipsey, research professor of human and organizational development, received the 2018 Peter H. Rossi Award from the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management.

Catherine McTamaney, BS’94, MEd’98, EdD’06, associate professor of the practice of teaching and learning and director of the department’s undergraduate studies program, was honored in April with the American Montessori Society’s inaugural Montessori Innovator Award.

Joseph Murphy, Frank W. Mayborn Professor of Education and associate dean, was listed in a June 2019 Review of Educational Research article as the sixth most influential researcher in education administration from 1960 to 2018. The systematic review was authored by Philip Hallinger and Jasna Kovacevic.

Bethany Rittle-Johnson has been installed as the Antonio M. and Anita S. Gotto Professor of Child Development at Peabody. She also has been named chair of the Department of Psychology and Human Development.

Adela Soliz, assistant professor of public policy and higher education, was named one of four 2019 William T. Grant Scholars. Designed to support promising early career researchers, the program will support Soliz in researching the Federal Work Study program and college persistence.

Duane Watson, associate professor of psychology and human development, received the 2018 Best Paper Award from the journal Memory & Cognition.

Joseph Wehby, MEd’87, PhD’90, associate professor and chair of the Department of Special Education, received the 2019 Outstanding Leadership Award from the Midwest Symposium on Behavior Disorders.