Vanderbilt seeks submissions for newly expanded Graduate School dean and vice provost role by Sept. 25

Faculty interested in a newly expanded leadership position for graduate education at Vanderbilt University are encouraged to submit applications or nominations. The deadline for these submissions is Sept. 25.

Reflecting the increased importance of graduate education at Vanderbilt, the new dean of the Graduate School also will hold the title of vice provost for graduate education. The expanded role is designed to foster greater connectivity between academic deans and the vice provost leadership team.

Interested candidates should submit a single PDF including a C.V. and a statement of interest that includes a vision for graduate education broadly, guiding principles for decision-making, and their commitment to and experience in graduate education. The PDF should be emailed to no later than Sept. 25, 2020. Nominations are also encouraged and should be submitted to the same email address.

View the full job description. >>

In August, Vanderbilt named Bunmi Olatunji, Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of Psychology, as interim dean of the Graduate School and appointed a broad-based, diverse search committee, chaired by Susan R. Wente, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs. Committee members include:

  • James P. Byrd, professor of American religious history, associate dean for graduate education and research chair of the Graduate Department of Religion, Divinity School;
  • Duco Jansen, professor of biomedical engineering and neurological surgery and senior associate dean for graduate education and faculty affairs, School of Engineering;
  • Terrah Foster Akard, associate professor of nursing and pediatrics and director of the Ph.D. in Nursing Science Program, School of Nursing;
  • Jeannette Mancilla-Martinez, associate professor of special education and associate dean for academic affairs and graduate education, Peabody College;
  • Kathy Gould, Louise B. McGavock Chair, associate dean for biomedical sciences, professor of cell and developmental biology and director of Graduate Student Support, School of Medicine;
  • Julian F. Hillyer, director of graduate studies and professor of biological sciences, College of Arts and Science;
  • Sharece Thrower, interim director of graduate studies and associate professor of political science, College of Arts and Science;
  • Nancy Reisman, professor of English, College of Arts and Science;
  • Joshua Passantino, president of the Graduate Student Council;
  • Logan Northcutt, president of the Organization of Black Graduate and Professional Students;
  • John Hindle, BA’68, PhD’81, former Vanderbilt trustee and a member of the Graduate School External Advisory Committee;
  • Charleson Bell, BE’07, MS’09, PhD’15, research assistant professor of biomedical engineering, School of Engineering, and chair of the Dores of Distinction advisory board.