Thirteen faculty members receive Provost Research Studios for 2019-20

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Tracey George (Vanderbilt University)

Thirteen outstanding faculty members from across the university have been awarded a Provost Research Studio for the 2019-20 academic year. The goal of the Provost Research Studios is to support the professional development of full-time faculty (tenured, tenure track, and non-tenure track) who are not full professors or otherwise at the top of their promotion ladder.

A key objective of the PRS is to offer this support at a critical time in the faculty member’s career so as to leverage the impact of the investment. Awardees receive up to $4,000 to cover the costs of each PRS.

“The PRS provide opportunities for recipients to make connections with key leaders in their fields of research as well as receive mentoring from outside the university,” said Tracey George, vice provost for faculty affairs. A Provost Research Studio can advance a faculty member’s research, scholarship and creative expression as well as expand their professional networks.

Past PRS recipients have used their funding for a variety of experiences, including:

  • inviting a pioneering scientist in the field of ancient DNA work to Vanderbilt to advise on current research projects and give a public lecture on her research;
  • engaging multiple scholars of theology and religion to receive mentoring and guidance on refinement of research statement and promotion trajectory;
  • convening a collection of scholars within the discipline of history for a manuscript workshop that supported the development of a book project; and
  • traveling to various universities to collaborate with senior scholars on new lines of research, including strategies for pursuing external funding sources.

The 2019-20 Provost Research Studio recipients are:

  • Ellen Armour, E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Associate Professor of Feminist Theology, Divinity School
  • Matthew Berger, assistant professor of computer science and computer engineering, School of Engineering
  • Carwil Bjork-James, assistant professor of anthropology, College of Arts and Science
  • Lauren Buchanan, assistant professor of chemistry, College of Arts and Science
  • Erin Calipari, assistant professor of pharmacology, psychiatry and behavioral sciences, and molecular physiology and biophysics, School of Medicine Basic Sciences
  • Robert Fry, senior lecturer in music history and literature, Blair School of Music
  • Joe Lambert, assistant professor of special education, Peabody College of education and human development
  • Bianca Manago, assistant professor of sociology and medicine, health and society, College of Arts and Science
  • Sara Mayeux, associate professor of law, law school
  • Mulubrhan Mogos, assistant professor of nursing, School of Nursing
  • Ipek Oguz, assistant professor of computer science and computer engineering, School of Engineering
  • Chorong Park, assistant professor of nursing, School of Nursing
  • Freeman Wu, assistant professor of marketing, Owen Graduate School of Management

The PRS program is managed through the Office of Faculty Affairs. For more information, please contact Jermaine Soto, director of faculty development.