Zeppos honored by Les Gemmes for community efforts

Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos (Vanderbilt University)

Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos was honored Feb. 25 as part of the 10th annual Literary Luncheon presented by the Nashville chapter of the Les Gemmes society. Zeppos received the Dr. Evelyn Fancher Award, named for a founding member of Les Gemmes who was recognized as a champion  of  the attributes of self-worth, inclusiveness, strong educational development, sound research and a commitment to respecting and celebrating life, courage, truth, leadership and strong character development. Zeppos was recognized as a leader in the Nashville community and specifically for the university’s efforts in removing the name “Confederate” from Memorial Hall.

“This recognition by Les Gemmes is an affirmation of the important work we are doing within Vanderbilt’s campus community and the city at large,” Zeppos said. “It’s vital that our community is one that makes everyone feel included, valued and appreciated.”

“It was obvious to the awards executive committee that recommended Chancellor Zeppos and was unanimously voted on by the entire membership for this distinguished honor,” Janice Woodard, president of the Nashville Chapter of Les Gemmes, said. “The chancellor possesses outstanding qualities, and we are so proud that he graces our city.”

“Chancellor Zeppos stands tall and bold among leaders in Nashville, Tennessee, and this nation and is most deserving of this honor,” Luvenia Harrison, the Literary Luncheon chair, added.

Authors featured at the luncheon were Michael Days, editor of the Philadelphia Daily News and author of Obama’s Legacy: What He Accomplished as President; filmmaker Angela M. Hutchinson, who wrote Breaking Into Hollywood; and playwright Sandra Seaton, for her book The Bridge Party.

Les Gemmes was chartered in 1968 as a national organization for women committed to promoting positive influences within the community, especially youth programs. Proceeds from the event support college scholarships for young women who participate in the organization’s Girls of Distinction program.