Search committee named for vice provost for equity, diversity and inclusion

Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan R. Wente has charged a search committee comprising students and faculty from a range of disciplines to identify the university’s first vice provost for equity, diversity and inclusion. Vice Provost for Academic and Strategic Affairs John Geer and Associate Provost for Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships Ifeoma Nwankwo are co-chairing the search, which was first announced in August.

“This committee will be charged with finding a leader with the experience and vision necessary to advance the many efforts we have all been pursuing to make Vanderbilt a more welcoming and inclusive community,” Wente said. “I am grateful to this group for their willingness to serve on this important committee.”

In addition to identifying a top candidate amid a highly competitive national search environment, the committee is charged with soliciting input from across campus to craft the roles and responsibilities for the new vice provost, who will be a central part of the provost’s team. The committee will work with an external national search firm to identify the best candidates.

The committee members are:

  • John Geer, co-chair, vice provost for academic and strategic affairs;
  • Ifeoma Nwankwo, co-chair, associate provost for strategic initiatives and partnerships;
  • Doug Adams, Distinguished Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Daniel F. Flowers Professor;
  • Ellen Armour, E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Professor of Religion, Gender and Sexuality;
  • Joey Barnett, professor of pharmacology, of medicine, of pathology, microbiology and immunology, and of pediatrics;
  • Edward Cheng, professor of law;
  • Ariana Fowler, president, Vanderbilt Student Government;
  • Ray Friedman, Brownlee O. Currey Professor of Management;
  • Carolyn Huebl, professor of violin;
  • Jay Larry, Law School;
  • Jana Lauderdale, assistant dean for diversity and inclusion, School of Nursing;
  • Evelyn Patterson, assistant professor of sociology;
  • Efrén Pérez, associate professor of political science; and
  • Duane Watson, associate professor of psychology and human development.