Faculty Senate introduces leaders; newsletter to launch in October

The Faculty Senate's Executive Committee for 2015-16 (l-r): Rolanda Johnson, Paul Lim, Ann Price, Richard Willis, Erin O'Hara O'Connor and Charlene Dewey. (Joe Howell/Vanderbilt)

The Faculty Senate, the representative and deliberative body of the Vanderbilt faculties, has elected its leadership for 2015-16.

The Executive Committee oversees the work of the senate and meets regularly with Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan Wente and Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine Jeff Balser.

The Executive Committee members are as follows:

  • Richard Willis, chair, Anne Marie and Thomas B. Walker, Jr. Professor of Accounting;
  • Ann Price, vice chair, assistant professor of medicine;
  • Erin O’Hara O’Connor, chair-elect, professor of law;
  • Charlene Dewey, vice chair-elect, associate professor of medicine;
  • Paul Lim, immediate past chair, associate professor of the history of Christianity; and
  • Rolanda Johnson, immediate past vice chair, associate professor of nursing.

In addition, the Faculty Senate’s standing committees guide the senate’s work. Review the committees’ charges and responsibilities.

The standing committee chairs are as follows:

  • Joyce Johnson, Academic Policies and Services. Johnson is professor of pathology, microbiology and immunology in the School of Medicine.
  • Brian Heuser, Faculty Life. Heuser is assistant professor of the practice of international education policy at Peabody College.
  • Myrna Wooders, Faculty Manual. Wooders is professor of economics in the College of Arts and Science.
  • Tom Christenbery, Grievances. Christenbery is associate professor of nursing in the School of Nursing.
  • Buddy Creech, Senate Affairs. Creech is associate professor of pediatrics in the School of Medicine.
  • Holly McCammon, Strategic Planning and Academic Freedom. McCammon is professor of sociology in the College of Arts and Science.
  • David Cliffel, Student Life. Cliffel is professor of chemistry in the College of Arts and Science.

The Faculty Senate will provide additional communications about who it is and what it does through MyVU and MyVUMC in the coming weeks. Faculty members also should look for a Faculty Senate newsletter, scheduled to launch in October.

For more information about the senate or upcoming meetings, to provide anonymous feedback, or to find the senators who serve your school, please visit the Faculty Senate website.