Awards and Honors

‘U.S News’ rankings announced

Peabody College was ranked the No. 3 education school in the nation, tied with Stanford University, by U.S. News & World Report. Peabody’s Educational Administration and Supervision program, as well as the Special Education program were ranked No. 1 in the nation; and the Education Policy program was ranked No. 2. All of Peabody’s programs were ranked in the Top 7.

Faculty named among top influencers

Nine Peabody faculty members were included in the 2015 Edu-Scholar Public Influence Rankings. Peabody’s top-ranked professor was Joseph Murphy at No. 14. The annual listing recognizes 200 university-based academics who have contributed substantially to the national discourse on K-12 and higher education issues over the past year. The list is compiled by Education Week blogger and author Rick Hess.

AERA honors Peabody professors

The American Educational Research Association selected Rogers Hall, professor and chair of the Department of Teaching and Learning, as one of 23 AERA Fellows for 2015. Fellows are selected on the basis of their notable and sustained research achievements. The new cohort was inducted at the AERA Annual Meeting in Chicago in April. Ebony McGee, assistant professor of education, diversity and urban schooling, was honored by AERA with the 2015 Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award, which is presented to a scholar who is within the first decade of his or her career after receipt of the doctoral degree. AERA announced 13 award winners in 11 association-wide categories. In other AERA news, Jason Grissom, assistant professor of public policy and education, has been named associate editor of Educational Researcher, one of the organization’s leading journals.

Jimenez  honored for reading advocacy

Robert T. Jimenez, professor in the the Department of Teaching and Learning, was inducted into the Reading Hall of Fame. The Reading Hall of Fame was established in 1973. Its purpose is to contribute, from the collective experiences of its members, to further improvement in reading instruction.

Benbow/Lubinski SMPY study gains media attention

After releasing a midlife update on participants in the Study of Mathematically Precocious Youth last fall, Camilla Benbow and David Lubinski attracted attention from a broad range of media outlets. The study, which finds that gifted men and women define and pursue success differently, was reported on by The Washington Post, The Huffington Post, Nature, Scientific American, The Boston Globe, Science Daily, New Republic and many more.

Boatman and Flores present in Washington

Angela Boatman, assistant professor of public policy and higher education, and Stella Flores, associate professor of public policy and higher education, were presenters at a Learning and Education Academic Research Network (LEARN) briefing at the Cannon House Office Building in Washington, D.C., in April. The presentation was titled, “College access, persistence and workforce outcomes for underrepresented groups in STEM fields.”

Carter named AAIDD fellow

Erik Carter, associate professor of special education, has been named a Fellow of the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities. Carter has been
a member for more than 15 years, and focuses his research on adolescents with intellectual disabilities.

Cutting named to Dyslexia Foundation board

The Dyslexia Foundation announced Laurie Cutting, Patricia and Rodes Hart Professor of Special Education, as chair of its Scientific Advisory Board. The board provides strategic guidance and direction for the foundation’s research and scientific symposia, guides and prioritizes research efforts and advises trustees on future efforts the board should consider.

Dickinson, Farran honored with endowed chairs

At a celebratory event in January, David Dickinson was named holder of the Margaret Cowan Chair. He is associate dean for research and strategic planning. Dale Farran received the Antonio M. and Anita S. Gotto Chair in Teaching and Learning. She is senior associate director of the Peabody Research Institute and professor of psychology and human development.

Finch named ‘Advocate for Action’ by the White House

Andy Finch was selected as an Advocate for Action due to his exemplary work in furthering the goals of President Barack Obama’s National Drug Control Strategy. Finch’s research will be profiled in National Drug Control Strategy, the annual publication of the Obama Administration’s efforts to reduce illicit drug use and its consequences in the United States. Finch was presented the award in Washington, D.C., in April.

Troseth featured in ‘Newsweek’

Georgene Troseth was quoted extensively in a special 100-page Newsweek issue this spring, “Your Baby’s Brain: How New Science is Unlocking the Secrets of the Infant Mind.” Troseth is associate professor of psychology and a Vanderbilt Kennedy Center researcher who focuses on children’s symbolic development, including how babies learn from visual media such as video, TV and touchscreens.

Hasselbring honored at Faculty Assembly

Ted Hasselbring, research professor in the Department of Special Education, received the Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor Award at the Spring Faculty Assembly in March. He received $2,500 and an engraved silver tray, and will carry the title for one year. The award is presented annually by Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos to a faculty member whose accomplishments span disciplines or result in innovations in teaching. Hasselbring, a leader in the use of technology to enhance learning for students with mild learning disabilities, is the creator of Read 180 and other technology-based strategies.

Lehrer and Schauble named to NEA

Rich Lehrer and Leona Schauble, professors in the Department of Teaching and Learning, have been elected to the National Academy of Education. They join Peabody colleague Paul Cobb in the nation’s most distinguished body of education scholars.

Sterba elected to SMEP

Sonya Sterba, assistant professor of psychology, was elected to the membership of the Society of Multivariate Experimental Psychology. One can be elected only by current members, and membership is capped at 65.

Wehby recognized by CEC

Joseph Wehby, associate professor of special education and a Vanderbilt Kennedy Center researcher, received the 2015 Special Education Research Award from the Council for Exceptional Children. The award was presented April 8 at the CEC 2015 Convention & Expo in San Diego, California. Wehby’s research focuses on identifying variables associated with the development and maintenance of aggressive behavior in children with emotional and behavioral disorders and possible treatment strategies.

Zimmer awarded Fordham Institute prize

Ron Zimmer, associate professor of public policy and education, and his team, won a Thomas B. Fordham Institute Best Paper Prize at the 4th Annual International School Choice and Reform conference in January.

Learn more at the Vanderbilt news site.