College of Arts and Science 2013 Undergraduate Teaching Awards announced

The College of Arts and Science recognized six faculty members with excellence in teaching and advising awards at its September faculty meeting.

Stob (Vanderbilt)

The school bestows three Jeffrey Nordhaus Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching annually. This year, Paul Stob, assistant professor of communication studies, received the Nordhaus Award in the humanities; D. Patrick Abbot, associate professor of biological sciences, received the Nordhaus Award in the natural sciences; and Gary Gerstle, the James G. Stahlman Professor of American History, received the Nordhaus Award in the social sciences.

Abbot (Vanderbilt)

Christina Rennhoff, senior lecturer in economics, was awarded the Harriet S. Gilliam Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Senior Lecturer or Lecturer.

The Ernest A. Jones Faculty Adviser Award was presented to Peter Rousseau, professor of economics.

Gerstle (Vanderbilt)

The Alumni Outstanding Pre-Major Adviser Award was given to Beau Baca, an adviser at CASPAR (College of Arts and Science Pre-major Academic Advising Resources) and a lecturer in English.

Rennhoff (Vanderbilt)

The Jeffrey Nordhaus Award was established in 1982 by a gift from Katherine Stumb Nordhaus and George Nordhaus in memory of their son, Jeffrey. The awards recognize Arts and Science faculty who excel in teaching undergraduates. The Gilliam Award was established in 1995 in memory of alumna Harriet S. Gilliam. It recognizes a lecturer or senior lecturer who has achieved excellence in teaching undergraduates.

Rousseau (Vanderbilt)

Nominations for the Nordhaus and Gilliam awards are reviewed and ranked by student members of Phi Beta Kappa, after which the College of Arts and Science dean selects the honorees.

Baca (Vanderbilt)

The Ernest A. Jones Award was established in 1978 by a grateful parent in recognition of the excellent academic advice his son received from Ernest A. Jones, now professor of physics, emeritus. The award honors a faculty member for dedication to undergraduate advising and its recipient is chosen by graduating seniors.

The Alumni Outstanding Pre-Major Adviser Award honors faculty members for their commitment to advising students during their first two years in the College of Arts and Science. The honoree is selected based on information provided by first-year students.