2013 Hamblet Award recipient named

(Hanna Rodgers/Vanderbilt)

Vanderbilt’s Department of Art has announced this year’s recipient of the prestigious Margaret Stonewall Wooldridge Hamblet Award: Hanna Yarbrough Rodgers from Collierville, Tenn. As a Hamblet winner, she will receive a $25,000 prize that provides the funds for a year of art research and travel, culminating in her solo show at Vanderbilt in one year.

Rodgers’ installation, moment/of suspension/of disbelief, was selected for the award
following a juried competition involving exhibition, interviews and written proposals.

The $10,000 Merit Award was presented to Helen Robinson of Darien, Conn.

Rodgers’ and Robinson’s art can be viewed as part of the 2013 Senior Show now on
display in Space 204, second floor gallery of the Department of Art. The exhibition
includes a diverse approach to art making from the eight graduating studio art majors.

Other students exhibiting include Ariela Atwell, Julie Choi, Daniel Litzow, C.J. Rhoades,
Adriana Salinas and Wenhao Liu.

Senior Show 2013 is on display Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday from Noon to 4 p.m. until May 10. The gallery is located in the E. Bronson Ingram Studio Art Center at 25th and Garland.

The Department of Art has supervised the awarding of the Margaret Stonewall Wooldridge Hamblet Award since 1984. The award was established by Clement H. Hamblet in honor
of his wife, whom he met while she was studying abroad. The Hamblet Award is meant to
provide the means for travel and independent art activity for one year, culminating in an
exhibition at Vanderbilt.

Jurors selected to serve for the competition are all distinguished artists and educators.
Jurors this year included Jenny Schmid, an assistant professor at the University of
Minnesota, St. Paul, Minn.; John Jacobsmeyer, professor at the New York Academy of Art
in New York and John Watson, assistant professor at Belmont University in Nashville, Tenn.

Contact: Diane Acree, (615) 343-7241