Summer 2015 Staff


Ryan Underwood, BA’96

Art Director and Designer

Donna DeVore Pritchett

Associate Editor and Production Manager

Phillip B. Tucker

Assistant Editor and Online Content Manager

Seth Robertson

Class Notes and Arts & Culture Editor

Bonnie Arant Ertelt, BS’81

Director of Photography

Daniel Dubois

Staff Photographers

Steve Green, Joe Howell, Anne Rayner, John Russell, Susan Urmy

Production Assistant

Julie Turner


Matt Anderson, Catherine Arnold, Joanne Lamphere Beckham, GayNelle Doll, Princine Lewis, Mitchell Light, Melanie Moran, Emily Poulin, David Salisbury, Nicole Smith, Cindy Thomsen, Amy Wolf

Vanderbilt Magazine is published quarterly by the Vanderbilt University Office of News and Communications, Integrated Communications Group, from editorial and business offices at 110 21st Ave. S., Suite 802, Nashville, TN 37203. Phone: (615) 322-1003. Email: Please send address corrections to Gift Processing Office, Vanderbilt University, PMB 407727, 2301 Vanderbilt Place, Nashville, TN 37240-7727; or email Vanderbilt Magazine is printed on recycled paper by Lane Press in Burlington, Vt.

Opinions expressed in Vanderbilt Magazine are those of the individual authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the magazine or the university administration. Vanderbilt University is committed to the principles of equal opportunity and affirmative action.

Copyright 2015 Vanderbilt University