Owen School awards five endowed chairs  printer 


by Amy Wolf

The Vanderbilt Owen Graduate School of Management has awarded endowed chairs to five faculty members. 

Three of the chairs are newly endowed through gifts given to the school in memory of E. Bronson Ingram, former CEO of Ingram Industries and former chairman of the Vanderbilt Board of Trust. Recipients of the E. Bronson Ingram chairs are Dawn Iacobucci for marketing, Nick Bollen for finance and Michael Lapré for operations management.

Iacobucci will join Owen this summer from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, where she served as the John J. Pomerantz Professor in Marketing. She is a noted expert on networks, customer satisfaction and service marketing, as well as quantitative psychological research.

Iacobucci has developed advanced customer satisfaction models and has earned several grants and honors, including the National Science Foundation Award. She is the author, co-author and editor of several books on services and integrated marketing, including the lead marketing research text in the industry.

Bollen joined Owen in 2001 as an associate professor of management and was recently appointed faculty program director of the master of science in finance, a program now in its third year. His areas of expertise include empirical market microstructure, mutual fund performance and option valuation.

Bollen achieved prominence in the investor community through his groundbreaking analysis of the impact of decimal pricing on mutual fund trading costs. He was awarded Owen’s Research Productivity Award in 2005 and has had eight research papers accepted for publication since 2001, including six in the top finance journals.

Associate Professor of Management Lapré is an internationally known expert on organizational learning curves. Lapré has done extensive research on customer complaints and the airline industry. He co-authored an award-winning paper on airline customer complaints called “Performance Improvement Paths in the U.S. Airline Industry: Linking Trade-offs to Asset Frontiers.” He recently completed research on mishandled baggage by the airlines and whether airlines learn to reduce customer dissatisfaction after consumer complaints.

Lapré, who joined Vanderbilt in 2001, has received the Shingo Research Prize, the Stan Hardy Award for best paper published in 2004, and the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research at Owen. He serves as department editor for Production and Operations Management and associate editor for Manufacturing and Service Operations Management.

Bruce Cooil, a professor of management in statistics, has been awarded the Samuel Richmond Chair in Management, established in 2004 to honor the former Owen dean who served from 1976 to 1986. Cooil’s research focuses on statistics, marketing and health care. Cooil and his collaborators developed a more accurate measure of coronary calcification by electron beam tomography, which can be used to follow the progression of atherosclerosis. This provides a way to significantly reduce mortality rates of coronary heart disease while providing substantial cost savings.

Cooil joined Owen’s faculty in 1982. He has received the Owen Dean’s Award for Research Productivity and the Research Excellence Award. He was elected “outstanding professor” by the Executive MBA Class of 2004 and has received the Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence five times.

Craig Lewis, professor of management in finance, has been awarded the Madison S. Wiggington Professor of Management Chair, established in 1995 to honor the life member of the Vanderbilt Board of Trust and co-founder of the Owen School. Lewis joined the Vanderbilt faculty in 1986. His expertise includes equity analyst behavior, the security issue process and corporate financial policy.

Lewis recently stepped down after four years as co-director of the Law and Business Program. He is a two-time recipient of the James A. Webb Award for Excellence in Teaching, selected by Vanderbilt MBA students, and a two-time winner of the Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence. He also received the Outstanding Executive MBA Professor Award, an honor voted on by students in that program.

Posted 05/30/07

For important news and announcements, visit the faculty and staff Web page at http://www.vanderbilt.edu/myVU.

To read the monthly magazine for the Vanderbilt community, the Vanderbilt View, check newsstands on campus, or visit http://www.vanderbilt.edu/vanderbiltview.