2021–22 Vanderbilt Awards for Leadership Excellence announced

VALE Awards 2022
Vanderbilt Awards for Leadership Excellence

On April 6 the Vanderbilt community celebrated the first in-person Vanderbilt Awards for Leadership Excellence ceremony since 2019. The event, hosted by the Office of Student Organizations, Leadership and Service at the Student Life Center Ballroom, featured opening remarks by Vice Provost and Dean of Students G.L. Black and Assistant Dean of Students Traci Ray.

“In my first year as dean of students, I have been immensely impressed with the dedication of students on this campus to making a lasting positive impact on the Vanderbilt community,” Black said. “One of my priorities as dean of students is to continue to open up more communication pathways between student leaders and administrators so we can work together to prioritize student initiatives.”

During the ceremony, 19 student leaders and seven student organizations were recognized for their service to the community. Attendees enjoyed music by the University Concert Band’s Jazz Combo, hors d’oeuvres and a red-carpet photo shoot to cap off the evening.

Individual awards

Accolade: The Chancellor’s Diversity Award: Safa Shahzad 
Casey Carter Bonar Award: Shubham Gulati and Chidiogo Nwakoby 
Glenn and Elizabeth Bogitsh Award: Caden Carter
Imani Award: The Rev. James Lawson Award for Campus and Community Leadership: Virginia Richards
Lori Groves-White Award for Advocacy and Courage: Rohit Kataria
McGill Awards (2 first-year students): Olivia Quiroga and Brina Ratangee
McGill Awards (1 McGill Residential Project member): Kelly Morgan 
McGill Awards (upper class): Abhinav Krishnan and Reethi Padmanabhan 
Nora C. Chaffin Scholarship: Dylan Hanson
Reverend Beverly A. Asbury Award for Interfaith Dialogue: Malak Elmessiry
Ripple In The Pond Award: Kayla Prowell
Rob Roy Purdy Award: Somerset Peede
Robert Peter Pratt Memorial Award: Bethlehem Daniel
Susan Jung Award: Reethi Padmanabhan
Thomas M. Weser Award: Chang Kyu Jung
William Aaron Pathfinder Award: Athira Sivadas

Student organization awards

Best Arts Program: McGill Project
Best Collaborative Program: Mu Rho Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. and Vanderbilt Student Government
Best Diversity and Inclusion Program: Next Steps at Vanderbilt Ambassadores
Best Health and Wellness Program: Mu Rho Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
Best Intercultural Awareness Program: International Student Council 
Best Interfaith Program: Vanderbilt Interfaith Council
Most Meaningful Service: Engineers Without Borders VU