Search committee announced to find next director of Bass Military Scholars Program

Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan R. Wente has appointed a committee to conduct a national search for the next director of the Bass Military Scholars Program. Wente will co-chair the committee with Vanessa Beasley, vice provost for academic affairs and dean of residential faculty. The committee also will include the president of the Perry R. Bass Foundation, the executive director of the Lee and Ramona Bass Foundation, a member of the Board of Trust, several faculty and staff members and two Bass Scholars.

Gary H. Cheek, the current program director, announced last month that he will be stepping down, remaining in the role through the spring to assist with the selection of next year’s cohort of scholars and to ensure a seamless transition with his successor. Cheek also will serve as an ex officio member of the committee.

The Bass Military Scholars Program supports up to 40 scholarships and programming for honorably discharged military veterans pursuing graduate and professional degrees at Vanderbilt Law School, Owen Graduate School of Management, Peabody College of education and human development, the School of Medicine and the School of Nursing. The program currently awards each recipient $25,000 per year toward general education expenses.

Members of the committee are:

  • Susan R. Wente (co-chair), provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs
  • Vanessa Beasley (co-chair), vice provost for academic affairs and dean of residential faculty
  • Perry R. Bass II, president of the Perry R. Bass II Foundation
  • Amy Fleming, professor of pediatrics, professor of medical education and administration, associate dean for medical student affairs, School of Medicine
  • Preston “Pete” M. Geren III, executive director of the Lee and Ramona Bass Foundation, president and CEO of the Sid W. Richardson Foundation
  • Alyssa Hartley , former U.S. Navy lieutenant, Boston University, special operations Naval aviator, Bass Scholar
  • Tyler LaChance, former U.S. army captain, Vanderbilt University, field artillery officer, Bass Scholar
  • Mary Lambert , associate professor, School of Nursing
  • Catherine Loss, associate dean for academic affairs and professional education, associate professor of the practice, Department of Leadership, Policy and Organizations, Vanderbilt Peabody College
  • Todd Morton, assistant dean and dean of admissions, Law School
  • Sue Oldham, associate dean, MBA operations, Owen Graduate School of Management
  • William Robinson, vice provost for academic advancement and executive director of the Provost’s Office for Inclusive Excellence
  • Brett Sweet, vice chancellor for finance and chief financial officer
  • Nora Wingfield Tyson , Vanderbilt trustee