2020 Fall Faculty Assembly to be virtual on Aug. 27

Chancellor Daniel Diermeier will share his vision and priorities for the new academic year and present many of the university’s highest honors at the Fall Faculty Assembly—to be held virtually—on Thursday, Aug. 27.

Diermeier’s first major address to the faculty will take place online due to the pandemic. The annual event, where the chancellor traditionally delivers a “State of the University” address, will begin at 4:10 p.m.

Faculty Senate Chair Catherine McTamaney, associate professor of the practice of teaching and learning, also will speak during the virtual gathering.

Since last spring’s faculty assembly was canceled during the early months of the pandemic, Diermeier and McTamaney will present faculty awards for both spring and fall 2020.

The awards that were delayed from last spring for presentation are the Harvie Branscomb Distinguished Professor Award, the Alexander Heard Distinguished Service Professor Award, the Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor Award, the Madison Sarratt Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, the Ellen Gregg Ingalls Award for Excellence in Classroom Teaching and the Joseph A. Johnson, Jr. Distinguished Leadership Professor Award

Fall awards to be announced are the Earl Sutherland Prize for Achievement in Research, the Thomas Jefferson Award, the Chancellor’s Award for Research and the Chancellor’s Award for Research on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. Diermeier also will present the 25-year service awards to faculty.

All university-employed (provost-reporting) faculty should receive an outlook calendar invite for the virtual assembly. Additionally, faculty can register or access the link to the event through the University Calendar.

>>Fall Faculty Assembly on the University Calendar.

The meeting will be recorded and shared later on YouTube and via the Faculty Senate portal.