Eleven students chosen as newest Ingram Scholars

Nine incoming first-year students and two rising sophomores have been selected for the newest class of the Ingram Scholarship Program. They are among more than 1,200 students who applied for the prestigious merit scholarship program.

Members of the class of 2023 are:

  • Nicole Arrea of Santa Ana, Costa Rica
  • Alyssa Champagne of Sevierville, Tennessee
  • Charlotte Coles of London, UK
  • Boston Cooper of Normal, Illinois
  • Andrew Deister of Mission Hills, Kansas
  • Patrick Flaherty of Frisco, Texas
  • Calvin Kamson of San Ramon, California
  • Jared Lapidus of Cabin John, Maryland
  • Shreya Rekapalli of Atlanta, Georgia

New members of the class of 2022 are:

  • Louisa Byars of Charleston, South Carolina
  • John Gee of Seoul, South Korea

They will join the nearly 300 current Vanderbilt students and alumni who have been awarded the Ingram Scholarship since 1994. From that first class of four undergraduates and two incoming first-year students, the program has grown to include approximately 40 Ingram Scholars attending the university at the same time.

The program was conceived in 1993 by E. Bronson Ingram, president of the Vanderbilt University Board of Trust from 1991 until his death in 1995, as a way to encourage students to combine a professional career with a commitment to community service and giving. Since Ingram’s passing, his wife, Martha Rivers Ingram, and two of his sons, John and Orrin, have been strongly involved in the program’s ongoing development.

Ingram Scholars engage in 20 hours of civic and community service each month and also design and implement projects that address significant societal challenges. The program encourages the scholars to create durable service projects that become self-sustaining. Ingram scholars are awarded a full tuition scholarship for four years and a stipend for a summer project.

Brian L. Heuser, associate professor of the practice of international education policy at Peabody College of education and human development, is the faculty director. For more information, visit the Ingram Scholars Program website.