Provost’s Women’s Initiative announces subcommittee members

Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan R. Wente
(Vanderbilt University)

The Provost’s Steering Committee for Initiatives Focusing on the Status of Women announces the members of four subcommittees that will focus on key thematic pillars: campus climate; compensation equity; institutionalized professional practices; and parental leave, childcare, and family-friendly practices. Each subcommittee has established a web page that includes each subcommittee’s charge, timelines and anticipated deliverables. Each web page also includes links for Vanderbilt faculty, postdoctoral fellows and students to provide feedback and/or express an interest in getting involved.

The subcommittees were established as part of the Provost’s Women’s Initiative, developed by Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan R. Wente to focus on the status of the broad array of women faculty, students and postdoctoral fellows across the academic affairs units at Vanderbilt.

“I am grateful that so many members of our Vanderbilt community are committed to achieving the goals of our women’s initiatives with their leadership and service on these subcommittees,” said Wente.

The steering committee’s charge is to offer programmatic solutions to ensure that all women are succeeding and supported in the community.

Cindy Kam, steering committee chair and William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Political Science (Vanderbilt University)

“The subcommittees benefit from the diverse perspectives of students, postdocs and faculty from across Vanderbilt’s many schools and colleges,” said Cindy D. Kam, chair of the Provost’s Steering Committee for Initiatives Focusing on the Status of Women and the William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Political Science. “The subcommittees include members of the steering committee as well as additional members of the Vanderbilt community. The subcommittees have been meeting monthly to identify issues and seek evidence to inform their policy and practice recommendations.”

Members of the four subcommittees are:

Campus Climate

  • Mary Lauren Benton, graduate student in biomedical informatics, president of the Graduate Student Association;
  • Phyllis Doremus, undergraduate student, College of Arts and Science, Vanderbilt Student Government chief of staff;
  • Tina Iverson, professor of biochemistry and pharmacology;
  • Isaac West, associate professor of communication studies.

Compensation Equity

  • Brent Evans, assistant professor of public policy and higher education;
  • Ralph Hazlewood, postdoctoral fellow in ophthalmology;
  • Joni Hersch, Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair in Law, professor of law and economics;
  • John McLean, Stevenson Professor of Chemistry; Faculty Senate chair-elect;
  • Allison Schachter, associate professor of English and Jewish studies (chair).

Institutionalized Professional Practices

  • Jessica Abner, graduate student, College of Arts and Science;
  • Amy Booth, professor of psychology and human development;
  • Janey Camp, research associate professor of civil and environmental engineering;
  • Jennifer Escalas, associate professor of marketing;
  • Vicki Greene, Stevenson Chair in Physics; Faculty Senate Chair (co-chair);
  • Catherine Gavin Loss, associate professor of the practice of leadership, policy and organizations;
  • Melanie Lutenbacher, associate professor of nursing (co-chair);
  • Terry Maroney, professor of law;
  • Phillis Sheppard, Associate Professor of Religion Psychology and Culture.

Parental Leave, Childcare and Family Friendly Policies

  • Heather Conner, Chancellor’s Chair of Pre-College Piano and professor of piano;
  • Rory Dicker, director of the Margaret Cuninggim Women’s Center (co-chair);
  • Letimicia Fears, postdoctoral fellow, Peabody College;
  • Heather Caslin Findley, postdoctoral fellow, School of Medicine;
  • Kejia Hu, assistant professor of operations management;
  • Clare McCabe, Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, associate dean of the Graduate School, director of the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs (co-chair);
  • Ginny Moore, associate professor of nursing; director of women’s health nurse practitioner specialty;
  • Kim Petrie, assistant dean for biomedical career development, assistant professor of medical education and administration;
  • Ron Schrimpf, Orrin H. Ingram Chair in Engineering;
  • Jennifer Shinall, associate professor of law.