Skip to main content

A&S senior to represent Vanderbilt in ‘Jeopardy!’ College Championship

Apr. 4, 2018, 3:54 PM

“Jeopardy!” host Alex Trebek and Vanderbilt senior Carsen Smith, who will represent the university in the 2018 College Championship. (photo courtesy of “Jeopardy!”)

Carsen Smith, a College of Arts and Science senior from Jacksonville, Florida, will represent Vanderbilt University in the Jeopardy! College Championship April 9–20. Smith, a cinema and media arts major, is one of 15 students from universities across the United States competing for $100,000 and an automatic berth in the next Jeopardy! Tournament of Champions.

Host Alex Trebek and the 2018 "Jeopardy!" College Championship contestants. (Photo courtesy of "Jeopardy!")
Host Alex Trebek and the 2018 “Jeopardy!” College Championship contestants. (Photo courtesy of “Jeopardy!”)

The 2018 College Championship contestants (in alphabetical order):

  • Josie Bianchi, a sophomore at Stanford University
  • Thatcher Chonka, a sophomore at the University of Oklahoma
  • Dhruv Gaur, a freshman at Brown University
  • Jordan Goodson, a senior at Columbia University
  • Rishab Jain, a freshman at the Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Patricia Jia, a senior at the University of Pennsylvania
  • Harry Kioko, a senior at the University of Chicago
  • Sheldon Lewis II, a sophomore at the Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Rebecca Rosenthal, a sophomore at Swarthmore College
  • Alli Ross, a sophomore at Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Hannah Sage, a sophomore at the University of Central Florida
  • William Scott, a freshman at Tufts University
  • Carsen Smith, a senior at Vanderbilt University
  • Eric Thorpe, a senior at Dartmouth College
  • Caroline Trammell, a junior at Furman University

Jeopardy! and its host, Alex Trebek, are in their 34th season in syndication. With 23 million viewers each week, Jeopardy! is the top-rated quiz show on television and has received several awards and distinctions over the course of its 30-plus-year run, including the 2017 Emmy for Outstanding Game Show.

For more information, visit