Chancellor Faculty Fellows nominations open for 2017

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 cohort of Chancellor Faculty Fellows, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan R. Wente announced today. The Chancellor Faculty Fellows, or CFF, program is now entering its third year and is a critical part of the Academic Strategic Plan’s Trans-Institutional Programs initiative. CFF re-invests in newly tenured faculty at a critical time in their careers to support research, scholarship and creative expression.

Fellows hold the title for two years and receive $40,000 each year to support discovery and learning activities. The TIPs Council, which is co-chaired by John Geer, vice provost for academic and strategic affairs, Padma Raghavan, vice provost for research, and Jennifer Pietenpol, executive vice president for research for Vanderbilt University Medical Center, manages the program.

Provost Susan R. Wente (Vanderbilt University)
Provost Susan R. Wente (Vanderbilt University)

To date, 28 faculty members representing a broad cross-section of disciplines have been named as Chancellor Faculty Fellows.

“The Chancellor Faculty Fellows program is not only an investment in these remarkable scholars and teachers, but an investment in our future as a university,” Wente said. “As our third cohort, the 2017 Chancellor Faculty Fellows will further benefit from working with the growing network of future faculty leaders who have participated and are participating in this program and building connections across disciplines.”

Chancellor Faculty Fellows meet regularly to exchange ideas, consider career and leadership development strategies, and foster trans-institutional collaboration.

All faculty recently promoted to associate professor (tenured or tenured-track) within the past five years in all the schools and colleges (or of the equivalent rank in the Blair and Law Schools), who do not hold an endowed chair or professorship, and who devote the majority of their effort to excellence in fundamental research, scholarship, and/or creative work are eligible for nomination.

The deans of Vanderbilt University’s 10 colleges and schools will conduct the nomination process for the 2017 class by working with their respective department chairs and faculty. Information on the materials required is available on the provost’s website. Nominations are due by Oct. 31. The TIPs Council will complete the review process in early 2017, and funding will begin July 1, 2017.TIP

Learn more >