Alumni Association Board announces 2015 alumni awards

The Vanderbilt University Alumni Association Board of Directors is pleased to announce the 2015 alumni award recipients—Helen Tuel, EdD’85, Hiram “Hi” Lewis, BS’99, MEd’01, David Price,’09, and John “Buddy” Fisher, BA’50.

“We are proud to honor these alumni whose professional accomplishments and contributions to society and Vanderbilt do so much to shine a positive light on the university,” remarks Jonathan Glasgow, BA’98, awards chair for the Alumni Association Board.

John “Buddy” Fisher, BA’50, is the Alumni Volunteer Award recipient, which recognizes a significant and positive pattern of volunteer service to the university. Fisher provided valuable leadership while serving on the Alumni Association Board and as a chapter president. He has also served as a Quinq chair and a Reunion weekend class chair.

Hiram “Hi” Lewis, BS’99, MEd’01, is the Young Alumni Volunteer Award recipient. This award honors an alumnus/a age 40 or younger with a significant, sustained pattern of volunteer service to the university. A former member of the Alumni Association Board of Directors, Lewis has also served as a speaker for the student-alumni series, Opening Dores, and is a VUconnect career adviser.

Detroit Tigers starting pitcher David Price, ’09, will receive the Young Professional Achievement Award, presented to an alumnus/a age 40 or under with a significant record of career achievement and a promise for future professional success. Price is a five-time All-Star and the 2012 American League Cy Young Award recipient.

Helen Tuel, EdD’85, will receive the Alumni Public Service Award, which recognizes superior service in the public sector, a sustained pattern of volunteer service in the community, or service to the arts that positively represents the university and fellow citizens. She uses horse riding to heal catastrophically wounded warriors and improve the attention span, memory, concentration, speech, and confidence of children with disabilities.

The official presentation will take place Thursday, October 2, 2015, in a ceremony held during Reunion/Homecoming.