Vanderbilt community to remember victims of Sandy Hook

Benton Chapel at Vanderbilt Divinity School
Benton Chapel at Vanderbilt Divinity School

The Office of Religious Life invites the Vanderbilt community to observe a minute of silence at 9:30 a.m. Friday—a week after the deadly shootings at Sandy Hook Elementary School. In memory of the victims, Vanderbilt community members also will have the opportunity, at any time during the day, to light an electric tea light in the Benton Chapel sanctuary and share written condolences and notes of sympathy in a remembrance book at Benton Chapel. This book will eventually be sent to Newtown, Conn.

As the Kirkland Hall bell tolls 26 times—once for each victim—let us remember:

Charlotte Bacon, 6

Daniel Barden, 7

Rachel D’Avino, 29, behavioral therapist

Olivia Engel, 6

Josephine Gay, 6

Dawn Hochsprung, 47, principal

Dylan Hockley, 6

Madeleine Hsu, 6

Catherine Hubbard, 6

Chase Kowalski, 7

Jesse Lewis, 6

Ana Marquez-Greene, 6

James Mattioli, 6

Grace Audrey McDonnell, 7

Anne Marie Murphy, 52, teacher

Emilie Parker, 6

Jack Pinto, 6

Noah Pozner, 6

Caroline Previdi, 6

Jessica Rekos, 6

Avielle Richman, 6

Lauren Gabrielle Rousseau, 30, teacher

Mary Sherlach, 56, school psychologist

Victoria Soto, 27, teacher

Benjamin Wheeler, 6

Allison N. Wyatt, 6

Contact: Mark Forrester, (615) 322-2457