Skip to main content

Three Peabody Faculty Members Named AERA Fellows

Nov. 16, 2012, 12:35 PM

Richard Lehrer

The American Educational Research Association in March selected three Peabody College faculty members to be AERA Fellows. Lynn Fuchs, Richard Lehrer and Joseph Murphy are among 36 scholars nationwide named to the 2012 class in recognition of their exceptional scientific or scholarly contributions to education research or significant contributions to the field through the development of research opportunities and settings.

“We are thrilled to see these members of the Peabody faculty recognized for their longstanding contributions to education research,” said Camilla Benbow, Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development. “Together with other members of the faculty previously chosen as fellows, they demonstrate Vanderbilt’s impact on the field.”

Lynn Fuchs is Nicholas Hobbs Professor of Special Education and Human Development. She focuses her research on instructional practice and assessment of student progress for students with reading and other disabilities.

Lynn Fuchs

Richard Lehrer is a professor of science education who researches children’s mathematical and scientific reasoning in the context of schooling, with a special emphasis on tools and notations for developing thought.

Joseph Murphy is the Frank W. Mayborn Professor of Education and associate dean of Vanderbilt’s Peabody College of education and human development. His work is in the area of school improvement, with special emphasis on leadership and policy.

The new fellows joined seven previously inducted AERA fellows from Peabody, including:

  • Camilla Benbow, Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development
  • Paul Cobb, Peabody Professor in Teaching and Learning
  • David Dickinson, professor of education
  • Dale Farran, professor of education and psychology
  • Douglas Fuchs, Nicholas Hobbs Professor of Special Education and Human Development
  • Ellen Goldring, Patricia and Rodes Hart Chair
  • Daniel Reschly, professor of education and psychology

The 2012 fellows were inducted during AERA’s 93rd Annual Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia, in April.

AERA fellows are nominated by peers, selected by the Fellows Program Committee and approved by the AERA Council.