Research News

Eight VU mathematicians elected to American Mathematical Society

AMS logoEight Vanderbilt mathematicians have been named as members of the inaugural class of Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS).


AMS is the world’s largest society dedicated to mathematical research, scholarship and education. The new fellowship program was established to recognize members “who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and utilization of mathematics.”

The Vanderbilt members are professors Dietmar Bisch, Mark N. Ellingham, Edward Saff, Guoliang Yu and Glenn F. Webb; Distinguished Professor Emeritus Bjarni Jónsson; Distinguished Professor and Stevenson Professor Vaughan F.R. Jones; and, Centennial Professor Mark Sapir.

The inaugural class contains 1,119 members from 600 institutions around the world.