2010 Athletics Hall of Fame Inductees

Ten new members were inducted into the Vanderbilt Athletics Hall of Fame on Sept. 3, 2010. They make up the third class to be named to the hall. The new members are:

  • Ernest “Bucky” Curtis, BA’51 (football, 1947–1950), first-team All-American in 1950, when he led the nation in receiving.
  • Shan Foster, BS’08 (men’s basketball, 2004–2008), Vanderbilt’s all-time leading scorer.
  • Heidi Gillingham Jackson, BA’94 (women’s basketball, 1990–1994), Kodak First Team All-American in 1993.
  • Chris Groer, BA’96 (men’s tennis, 1993–1996), All-American and First Team All-SEC in 1996.
  • Frank Lorge, BE’72, JD’80, MS’82 (swimming, 1969–1972), two-time SEC champion in 200-yard backstroke, 1969 and 1970.
  • Edward A. Martin (men’s assistant basketball coach, 1985–1989), professor of human and organizational development, emeritus.
  • Jeff Peeples, ’73 (baseball, 1970–1973), Vanderbilt’s all-time leader in career wins and earned run average.
  • Dr. Ann Hutcheson Price, BA’71, MD’78 (women’s tennis, 1969–1971), played in National Women’s Tennis Tournament in 1970 and 1971.
  • Grantland Rice, BA 1901 (football, baseball, 1898–1901), captain of the 1901 baseball team and first inductee into the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame in 1962.
  • Will Wolford, BA’87 (football, 1982–1985), first-team All-SEC in 1985 and three-time Pro Bowl selection in the NFL.

Explore Story Topics