Board of Trust Elects Mark Dalton as Chairman


The Vanderbilt University Board of Trust has unanimously elected New York businessman Mark F. Dalton as its chairman-elect, to succeed Martha R. Ingram.

A 1975 graduate of Vanderbilt Law School, Dalton is co-chairman and CEO of Tudor Investment Corp. and its affiliates. Before joining Tudor in 1988, Dalton spent nine years with Kidder, Peabody & Co. as a senior executive and four years with the law firm of Sullivan & Cromwell as an attorney in New York City.

“Vanderbilt is fortunate to have such an accomplished leader in Mark Dalton as chairman-elect,” says Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos. “Mark’s business and strategic expertise have served the university well.”

Dalton has been a member of Vanderbilt’s Board of Trust since 2002 and also has been a member of the board of trustees of Denison University since 1990. He received his bachelor of arts degree from Denison in 1972 and served as chairman of the Denison board from 2003 to 2009.

Ingram, who has partnered with three chancellors for more than a decade to spearhead and support some of Vanderbilt’s most ambitious initiatives, will become an emerita member of the board beginning in the summer of 2011. She decided to give a year’s notice, Ingram says, in order to allow an orderly transition to new leadership. “Mark and I will work together in the next year to ensure that Vanderbilt loses none of its momentum going forward.”


Elected board chairman in 1997 during the administration of Chancellor Joe B. Wyatt, Ingram was instrumental in the selection of former Chancellor Gordon Gee in 2000 and of Zeppos in 2008.

“Martha’s footprint on Vanderbilt is wide, deep and lasting,” says Zeppos. “During the next year we will celebrate appropriately her leadership, but Martha, the board and I have much to accomplish with her at the helm until next summer.”

“Under Martha’s leadership as board chairman, Vanderbilt has made extraordinary strides in nearly every area,” says Dalton. “I will spend this next year working with and learning from her as we move toward this leadership transition.”

Also during its annual spring meeting, the Board of Trust elected Nancy P. Mulford (BA’82) of Dallas and Jackson W. Moore (JD’73) of Germantown, Tenn., as vice chairmen-elect and Joanne F. Hayes (BA’68) of Nashville as secretary-elect.

Explore Story Topics