Vanderbilt University team wins American Debate Association 2010 National Championship

Vanderbilt University debate team members Cameron Norris and Nick Brown were declared the varsity debate champions at the American Debate Association (ADA) 2010 National Championship Debate Tournament held at Vanderbilt March 7-8.

Several hundred of the nation’s top college debate teams from dozens of universities participated in the tournament.

Norris also received the 2010 Julia Burke Award, given out annually at the ADA Championship to recognize the college policy debater who exhibits excellence in and passion for debate, a commitment to helping others, love and respect for the ADA policy debate community and dedication to maintaining friendships despite the pressures of competition. The award includes an individual trophy and a $1,000 donation to the charity chosen by the award recipient.

“Just the opportunity to host the national title here at Vanderbilt was exciting,” said Mary Lynn Sandoz, director of debate at Vanderbilt. “We produced a really well-run tournament, and I am so proud of how well our teams did.”

The ADA promotes intercollegiate policy debate and provides national awards for achievements in policy debate. The ADA has sponsored national championship tournaments for more than 20 years. In addition to the national championship, the ADA presents awards to debate squads at colleges and universities based on competitive success throughout the entire debate season. These awards are called sweepstakes awards. The ADA is the only policy debate organization that provides a national championship tournament that includes all three levels of debate: varsity, junior varsity and novice.

Media Contact: Missy Pankake, (615) 322-NEWS

Explore Story Topics