Associate Professor of History William Caferro has received the 2008 Otto Gründler Book Prize for his biography John Hawkwood: An English Mercenary in Fourteenth-Century Italy (2006, The Johns Hopkins University Press). Western Michigan University offers this prestigious award annually for the best book or monograph on medieval studies.

David E. Lewis
Joseph S. Mella

David E. Lewis, professor of political science, has been presented the Herbert A. Simon Best Book Award for The Politics of Presidential Appointments: Political Control and Bureaucratic Performance (2008, Princeton University Press). The award is given annually by the American Political Science Association’s Public Administration Section.

Joseph S. Mella, director of the Vanderbilt University Fine Arts Gallery, along with his collaborators Edward F. Fischer, director of the Center for Latin American Studies at Vanderbilt and Carlos Jauregui, professor of Latin American literature and anthropology at Vanderbilt, were recognized recently by the Southeastern College Art Conference (SECAC) with the SECAC Award for Outstanding Exhibition and Catalogue of Contemporary Materials. This award, part of SECAC’S annual awards program to recognize exemplary work in the visual arts in higher education, was bestowed to Mella and his fellow collaborators for the exhibition and companion catalogue Of Rage and Redemption: The Art of Oswaldo Guayasamín, which is currently on its North American tour.

Explore Story Topics