Vanderbilt University receives 11 MidSouth Regional Emmy Nominations

Vanderbilt University received 11 MidSouth Regional Emmy nominations in the Advanced Media categories, marking the first time the university has been recognized in the competition for the highest honor in television.

Vanderbilt received more nominations than anyone else in the Advanced Media categories. The Vanderbilt News Service received nine nominations and the Learning Sciences Institute received two.

In addition, Vanderbilt’s Pat Slattery, broadcast production manager for the News Service, was selected by the MidSouth Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) to be inducted into the Silver Circle.

“From the many deserving nominations we received, one person stood out for his exemplary work and for having touched so many others in the profession,” Phil Bell, the NATAS National Trustee, said during the Nov. 16 nomination reception.

The Silver Circle honors 25 years of contributions to the television industry. Slattery joined the Vanderbilt News Service after almost 30 years at WSMV-TV, serving as chief photographer for more than 10 years.

Following are the Emmy categories and nominations:

Advanced Media Arts/Entertainment: First & Ten Steel Drum Band (Emily Pearce, Pat Slattery, Joe Fisher); Star Chamber (Pat Slattery, Emily Pearce)
Advanced Media Documentary: Freedom Ride 2007 (Pat Slattery, Emily Pearce)
Advanced Media Public/Current/Community Affairs: Rev. James Lawson (Emily Pearce, Pat Slattery, Joe Fisher); Scholar Identity Institute (Lyle Jackson)
Advanced Media Sports: CloserVU: Dee Davis (Emily Pearce, Pat Slattery, Amy Wolf, Wes Whaley); More Than Just A Game (Pat Slattery, Emily Pearce)
Advanced Media Photographer: Pat Slattery
Advanced Media Editor: Pat Slattery
Advanced Media Writer/Producer: Emily Pearce; Lyle Jackson
The 22nd Annual Midsouth Emmy awards ceremony will be held Jan. 26 at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center.

Media Contact: Emily Pearce, 615-322-2706

Explore Story Topics