Skip to Content

myVU - Resources for Faculty and Staff

Submission deadline update for Pew Scholars Program

Jun. 28, 2013, 3:32 PM

The deadline to submit a brief research plan for the Pew Scholars Program Limited Submission to Vanderbilt’s Internal Review Committee has changed to July 9, 2013.

Anyone interested in being considered as Vanderbilt’s nominee must submit the following (in PDF format) to by 5 p.m. on July 9, 2013:

1. Brief (two-page maximum) research plan including summary budget.
2. Brief statement of support from department chair/center director.
3. A brief CV or NIH Biosketch.

Submissions should reference the program name in the subject line of the email. All applicants should verify their eligibility in advance through the foundation website.

Once received, all proposals will be forwarded to an internal review committee that will choose the final nominee. The chosen nominee will submit a full proposal to the foundation by its Nov. 1 deadline.

Please note, Vanderbilt’s Internal Review Committee is not permitted to simultaneously nominate the same applicant to the Pew Scholars Program and any of the following awards: Searle Scholars Program, Rita Allen Foundation Scholars, Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award for Medical Scientists, Beckman Young Investigator Program, Ellison New Scholar Award, W.M. Keck Foundation, Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award, and the Kimmel Scholar Award.  The selected nominees for the Pew Scholars Program will therefore be ineligible to apply for those opportunities.

If you have any questions about the Foundation or its interests and priorities, please contact Ashley Brady, associate director of Foundation Relations, at or 343-4217.

Details for the Pew Scholars Program in the Biomedical Sciences are listed below:

Vanderbilt may nominate one candidate for the 2014 Pew Scholars Program in the Biomedical Sciences. The program supports independent research of outstanding individuals for projects relevant to the advancement of human health. The award provides $240,000 over four years and the program will name 22 Pew Scholars in 2014.

The program is open to individuals with a doctorate in medicine or biomedical sciences. As of Nov. 1, 2013 candidates must hold full-time appointments at the rank of assistant professor. On July 1, 2013 they must not have been in such an appointment for more than three years, whether or not such appointments were on a tenure track. This time may have been spent at more than one institution.

Strong proposals will demonstrate particularly creative and innovative approaches. Risk-taking is encouraged. Applicants with committed awards from the Searle Scholars Program, Rita Allen Scholars, Burroughs-Wellcome Career Award for Medical Scientists, Beckman Young Investigators Program, Ellison New Scholar Award, Keck Foundation, Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award and the Kimmel Scholar Award that overlap for the first two years of the Pew Scholarship would not be eligible. Funding from the NIH, other government sources, and project grants from nonprofit associations do not pose a conflict with the Pew Scholars Program.

Contact: Melissa L. VandeWater, 615-343-4574

Share This Story

Explore Story Topics

myVU, myVU Take Note ,

Related Stories

  • University-wide limited submission opportunity: Simons FoundationJune 30, 2014